HRCCA Scholarship

For Halton Grade 12 Students

Application Deadline for 2017 Scholarship : Sunday, April 9, 2017

See Information and Required Forms Below

Scholarship E-Poster     Scholarship Award Information

Scholarship Application Form pdf        Scholarship Application Form Word

Scholarship Recommendation Form pdf    Scholarship Recommendation Form Word

2016 Recipient

For the 2016 scholarship we have a worthy winner – Mr. Alvin Leung –  who is a honored graduate of Iroquois Ridge High School in Oakville with an average of over 90%. He has also done social and community work both in the third world and the Chinese community. As events had turned out he had decided to pursue university in Hong Kong, which had disqualified him from receiving the scholarship; but the HRCCA had nevertheless issued a special award for him as a reward for his achievements.

2015 Recipients

Louis Tsai (蔡聿沂), president of the Halton Region Chinese Canadian Association (HRCCA), announced today the award of scholarships to two Burlington students: Leah Wei (魏然) from Nelson High School and Catherine Zeng (曾婧婕) from Robert Bateman High School. They will each receive $1,000 for their pursuit of post-secondary studies. Wei’s scholarship is awarded in memory of Madam Chiu Tam Mo-Wan (趙譚 慕蕴), while Zeng’s in memory of Mr Ning Chiu (趙寧). Press Release

Leah Wei (魏然)

Born in China and raised in Vancouver, Wei quickly learned to adapt at an early age to changes in environment but maintained her roots by always making the local Chinese school part of her weekly routine. This is in addition to her involvement and holding executive positions in various clubs both in and outside her school including the Nelson’s Interact Club, a Rotary International’s Service club for young people. She has been accepted by York University to pursue a Bachelor of Design program in the Fall of 2015.

Catherine Zeng (曾婧婕)

Since immigrating from China at the age of 12, Zeng has been active in the Chinese community. As an accomplished dancer and an advanced player of the Chinese musical instrument guzheng, she performs frequently at many cultural and local community events and co-organized the Culture Fusion Festival at her high school this year. Zeng will be attending University of Waterloo pursuing a co-op program in accounting and financial management.

About the HRCCA Scholarship

The Scholarship program was established to recognize students who have demonstrated leadership and/or involvement in the promotion and integration of Chinese culture in the community, have achieved good standings in Halton secondary schools and to assist candidates who are in financial need.

The 2014 HRCCA Scholarship Award is in memory of Chiu Tam Mo-Wan.

Donations toward the HRCCA Scholarship can be made through Canada Helps via the Oakville Community Foundation. Click on the Canada Helps logo and select HRCCA Scholarship Endowment Fund under Fund/Designation.   Canada Helps Logo

Previous Award Recipients

  • 2014 Award — Linda Fei of Abbey Park High School [Press Release]
  • 2014 Award in Memory of Chiu Tam Mo-Wan — Kelly Kong of White Oaks Secondary School [Press Release]
  • 2013 Award in Memory of Lily Chan — Emily Zixin Wang, Aldershot High School [Press Release]
  • 2012 — Ida Yun Zhen Ji, Aldershot High School [Press Release]
  • 2011 Award in Memory of Lily Chan — Jing Guo, Aldershot High School [Press Release]
  • 2010 — Andrew Wong [Press Release]
  • 2009 — Jessica Wang, Nelson High School
  • 2008 Award In Memory of Chan Po Sheung — Bonita Tsai, Burlington Central High School
  • 2007 Award In Memory of Chan Po Sheung — Sarah Xu, Robert Bateman High School